Holiday Must Haves

I know I only have a few posts up here and they are mostly about buying things but its that time of year.  I wanted to bring you a list of some of my favorite things to help you with gift giving during the holidays.  Everything will be something I own, have owned, and maybe a couple items that are on my own wish list.

For the cookie lover –

Do you have someone on your list that LOVES cookies?  Are they trying to watch their waist line in the new year? Well Emmy’s Organics is the PERFECT item for them and they are gluten free. Co-Owners Ian & Samantha started this business in a home kitchen. They are a small business based out of Ithaca, New York.  Living on Long Island I would consider them local.  They are coconut based and delicious! Emmy’s currently comes in 9 flavors. This year their line has grown a bit with 4 new flavors including Pumpkin Spice, Double Chocolate Mint, Golden Milk & Matcha.  The Pumpkin Spice & Double Chocolate Mint are their seasonal flavors and limited edition.  They are both INSANELY delicious.  If you are traveling this season you can find them in some airports and also in all Sprout Markets.  If like me, you do not live near a Sprouts they are available on the Emmy’s website and you can even get in a cute gift box!  Other flavors include Vanilla Beam, Lemon Ginger, Peanut Butter, Chocolate Chip, and Dark Cacao. I always say I have a favorite until I eat a different flavor. Their traditional flavors can be found in Starbucks, CVS, Whole Foods, Wegmans, and many other stores.  Head to the store locator on their website to find these cookies near you.  One other great thing about Emmy’s Organics is that they are B-Corp Certified meaning they are a business that is committed to spreading the good about healthy snacking while being socially and environmentally responsible. They use GREAT ingredients (organic, gluten free, non-GMO), give back and have an amazing team of workers.

For the foodie –

For over a year my husband and I have randomly received meals from Blue Apron.  Some were ordered and others were a surprise (because I forgot to skip a week).  What I love most about these meals is you can pick which you want.  There is at least a poultry, beef, seafood, and vegetarian meal on the schedule each week.  There are 2 different plans you can pick from – 2 person (2 servings) or a family plan (4 servings). From there you can determine how many meals you want to receive (2-4) for that week.  When the box arrives (another thing you select which day you want to have it arrive) it comes in a thick cardboard box that is well packed with dry ice.  This ensures that the food will stay until you get home in the evening.  The recipe cards are at the top of the box and then you have your veggies, carbs, and other nick nacks (sauces, seasonings, etc.) then under all that is the protein (don’t forget to get to the bottom! I have missed this on one of my first boxes). All recipes are packed together for ease.  Most take between 30 and 45 minutes.  Pricing ranges between $47 and $72 per week depending on the plan.  Sometimes I enjoy getting so that we don’t have to go out to eat one night that week.  This is the way that I justify the spending on the meals.

For the fitness enthusiast –

I am going to put a few things in this category because it is something I am pretty passionate about.
Recently I was introduced to a shop called Grace and Grit.  Grace and Grit is a brand new apparel line.  Their mission is to motivate every day women to meet not-so-everyday goals through fun, functional athletic wear.  The owner Sara makes REALLY cute tops that you can wear beyond the workout.  Who doesn’t love wearing cute clothing around town? They currently make women’s and kids’ apparel.  Their price point is great too ranging from $24.99 $29.99.  My favorite is the “MEDALS ARE A GIRL’S BEST FRIEND” tank.  Make sure you head to their Instagram page because they are doing a 12 Days of Deals starting on Saturday.
This past year I invested in a set of adjustable weights.  While I haven’t fully increased weight I have slightly adjusted them for several moves.  You can find them at all different price points on Amazon.  The next thing I want to add to this is a few other size weights so the overall weight doesn’t jump higher than I’m able to lift. I chose to get this type of weight and get rid of the others I had because 3 sets take up far more room than one set but this I didn’t need to really tell you.
A good yoga mat is essential to any fitness practice at home or if you go to a studio.  I have several mats at home and I tend to rotate between them.  I have a few Tone It Up mats, a Lululemon mat, and my most recent Yoga Design Lab that is a combo mat so it is a towel as well as a mat.  I will test it out at a hot Pilates class coming up soon.

For the chocolate lover –

I can’t share my love for Eating Evolved enough with people. Yes some products I like more than others but I’ve never had one bad item from them.  Most of their products are coconut based but they also have a few that are cashew.  From bars, to cups, to coconut butter and chocolate spreads there is a product for everyone on your list. I’ve been a fan of theirs for over 3 years and I don’t see that changing anytime soon. My freezer and pantry are ALWAYS stocked with a variety of items.  For just over the past year they have had an IG Live show called Evolved 11 where co-owners Rick & Christine “go live every weekday morning at 11am EST”. Only on holidays and once in a while during the week they have to skip an episode. On this “show” they do product reviews, trivia, interviews other brands and much more. It is seriously my favorite thing. Because of my work schedule I can’t catch it live anymore but it is available on their page for 24 hours and then on YouTube.  Recently they started a Facebook group called The Monkey Troop and they share exclusive information, recipes, recaps of E11 and more. On top of single items you can order they currently have a few gift boxes filled with so many delicious things. I would definitely recommend this as a present for yourself or someone.

The gadget loving chef –

This past Black Friday I finally took the plunge after 6 months of debating if I wanted to be the owner of an Instant Pot. The price was right and I couldn’t turn it down. It arrived from Amazon a few days later and I can not wait to use it.  I got the 8 qt 7 in 1 style.  It is a pressure cooker, slow cooker, rice cooker, yogurt maker, sauté, and more. Share with me your favorite places to go to for recipes!

For the girl on the go who loves to work out –

I have shared my favorite and go to skin care with you on my Instagram many times but I will share again! For over a year my go to has been FRÉskincare.  Their line started with 3 products and has now increased to 5.  They are soon releasing a travel size so you don’t have to carry the full with you when you go away.  They have a cleanser, moisturizer, refresher, tinted moisturizer, and a mask. Like Eating Evolved I have a favorite until I try another product. The line is refreshing, won’t clog your pores and just overall amazing. For every 123fré set that is purchased an Argan tree is planted in Morocco. I could probably go on and on about this but I don’t want to totally bore you.

For the yoga lover

Another brand that I’ve spoken about is Bulldog Yoga.  They are based out of Pennsylvania but lucky for me and you their classes are available online.  You can choose from a bunch of different style classes to do right from the comfort of your living room or workout room. I can’t forget to mention the classes are set to fun music – Justin, Britney, Beyoncé…to name a few!

For the book lover –

I am about halfway through the book but Justin Timberlake’s new book HINDSIGHT should be on everyone’s wish list this season.  It shares photos and stories from his past and present. I mean I was and will always be an *NSYNC fan so there was no doubt in my mind I needed this book.
On my “wish list” or my must obtain list is BECOMING by Michelle Obama. I wanted to get from Target but they were sold out. I will either add to my list or when I come across get it on my own.

For the person who loves to be comfy and warm –

For the past 3 years I have wanted to get a blanket from Project Repat.  They make different size blankets from old T-shirt’s that you send in.  The reverse side is a fleece in a color of your choosing (I think they had about 8-10 colors). You can also pay a little extra to choose your own layout.  This is a great way to preserve old shirts and declutter the house.

And finally for the one who has everything –

Don’t know what to get a friend or family member? How about a gift card to Amazon, Target, their favorite store, or a fitness studio? It is definitely something you can’t go wrong with. I love getting gift cards and I do not feel they are a cop out. Why buy something for someone they would never want? Let them pick out what they like.
What is on your holiday wish list this year? What items are you purchasing for friends and family?

Leave a comment