Chocolate Peanut Butter Protein Muffins

Just realizing it’s been quite a while since I last posted. Life has been busy so I promise it’s not you it’s me.

This past weekend I played around a bit in the kitchen and made what turned out to be some pretty good muffins. My only change would be to swirl the peanut butter into the whole muffin rather than just bake on top.

These muffins are not at all dense. They are pretty light. I’ve had at room temperature and cold out of the fridge. I prefer them cold but will also need to try warmed up.

The ingredients are clean. The macros are pretty good. The muffins are gluten free and dairy free.

Ingredients

  • 1 scoop Collagen Peptides (I used Vital Proteins)
  • 2 scoops of vanilla protein powder (I used Trader Joe’s)
  • 3 tablespoons cacao powder
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup cassava flour
  • 3/4 cup pumpkin purée
  • 1/3 cup almond milk (may need a little more)
  • 1/8 cup gluten free oat flour
  • Peanut butter

Directions

  1. Mix all ingredients together except the peanut butter.
  2. Preheat oven to 350° F.
  3. Either spray or line your muffin pan.
  4. Fill all 12 cups about 3/4 of the way.
  5. Top (or swirl in) each muffin with 1/2-1 tablespoon of peanut butter.
  6. Bake for 18-22 minutes.
  7. Enjoy!

Macros (from my calculations)

Protein – 13g Carbs – 20g Fat – 19g

If done without peanut butter (using a different topping – next time I’ll try with almond butter)

Protein – 6g Carbs – 14g Fat – 2g

Leave a comment